A list of at least 37 illegal universities that are currently in operation in Nigeria has been made public by the government.

This was revealed on Wednesday in an interview with Channels Television by Chris Maiyaki, the acting secretary of the National Universities Commission, NUC.

He claims that arrests have been made in collaboration with security personnel.

Maiyaki emphasised that the crackdown on unlawful institutions includes the Department of State Services.

In order to prevent their wards from falling prey to fraud, the NUC secretary asked parents to visit the commission’s website to learn about both legal and illegal varieties in Nigeria.

This came after degree certificates from two francophone West African countries were suspended. Following the disclosure by an undercover journalist about how he completed his degree programme in less than two months at a university in the Benin Republic and was sent to serve in the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC), the NUC issued a statement.

As a result, the federal government blacklisted eighteen universities from Togo and the Benin Republic.

On Wednesday, the administration also made hints about plans to broaden the penalties against African universities, including those in Kenya, Uganda, the Niger Republic, and other nations.

Below is a comprehensive list of universities that are not authorised.

Please don’t forget to “Allow the notification” so you will be the first to get our gist when we publish it. 
Drop your comment in the section below, and don’t forget to share the post.