A foreign university with a number more than 18 that is prohibited from operating in Nigeria was revealed by the Federal Government on Tuesday through the Federal Ministry of Education.

Prior to this controversy, Zingtie had claimed that the federal government had declared that it would no longer be evaluating or accrediting degree credentials from the Republic of Benin and Togo.

Nigerians were also cautioned by the commission to refrain from enlisting in such institutions.

The action of a degree mill in Cotonou, a major city in the Benin Republic, was the subject of an undercover investigation by a Nigerian newspaper on which the Nigerian government based its decision.

The investigation revealed that the investigative reporter completed the required one-year programme run by the National Youth Service Corps and graduated from Cotonou University in six weeks.

Zingtie highlights a list of foreign universities that the NUC delisted after data analysis from the NUC website.

  1. University of Applied Sciences and Management, Port Novo, Republic of Benin or any of its other campuses in Nigeria.
  2. Volta University College, Ho, Volta Region, Ghana or any of its other campuses in Nigeria.
  3. The International University, Missouri, USA, Kano and Lagos Study Centres, or any of its campuses in Nigeria.
  4. Collumbus University, UK, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  5. Tiu International University, UK, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  6. Pebbles University, UK, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  7. London External Studies UK operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  8. Pilgrims University operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  9. West African Christian University is operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  10. EC-Council University, USA, Ikeja Lagos Study Centre.
  11. Concept College/Universities (London) Ilorin or any of its campuses in Nigeria.
  12. Houdegbe North American University campuses in Nigeria.
  13. Irish University Business School London, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  14. University of Education, Winneba Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  15. Cape Coast University, Ghana, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  16. African University Cooperative Development, Cotonou, Benin Republic, operating anywhere in Nigeria.
  17. Pacific Western University, Denver, Colorado, Owerri Study Centre.
  18. Evangel University of America and Chudick Management Academic, Lagos.

Please don’t forget to “Allow the notification” so you will be the first to get our gist when we publish it. 
Drop your comment in the section below, and don’t forget to share the post.